Slugs: The Movie (1988) Film Review by Gareth Rhodes

Slugs: The Movie (1988) Directed by Juan Piquer Simon. With Michael Garfield, Kim Terry and Philip MacHale.

slugs-b

The only thing that moves slower than the carnivorous slugs in this Spanish/American horror production, is time. A quick bit of research reveals that the film was considered a video nasty and banned in Queensland, Australia, until the early 1990’s. Sagacious folk, those Aussies.

Joking aside, Slugs (The Movie!?) is utter dross. Its (mis)use of music is on one occasion, comical enough to warrant a rewind, and while a scene in which two lovers succumb to some slimy bedroom invaders, possibly stands as the films most memorable scene, it’s clutching it straws to call it anything approaching a guilty treat.

The action was shot between Madrid and New York, creating a plainly irregular look. The actors themselves, sound like bad TV presenters, reading an autocue, while the lagging ADR and uneven, on-set sound capture do nothing to enhance their vacant performances.

Apart from the sight of a slug eating a hamster (do you really want to see that!?), this won’t show you anything you haven’t already seen, many times over. Its got a few gory moments, that might attract the die-hard horror hounds, but for the most part, it’s boring and completely stupid. For best results, see Slither (2006)1.5/5

About garethrhodes

Full-time lover of all things creative.
This entry was posted in Film Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Slugs: The Movie (1988) Film Review by Gareth Rhodes

  1. Laura O says:

    Ha, where do you find these films?!

  2. I love this film. Such a bad, fun movie. Juan Piquer Simon has been dubbed the Spanish Ed Wood and its a fitting title. Slugs and Pieces are two of my favorite bad films

    • garethrhodes says:

      I didn’t know that about Piquer Simon. I recall seeing the reflection of one of the camera operators in the wing-mirror of a car at one stage. Very Ed Wood-esque.

      • His film Pieces in many ways can be seen as his Plan 9. From silly, but funny dialogue, random things that have zero to do with the plot.

        I can’t confess to being an expert on J. Simon as I’ve only seen Slugs and Pieces. But I’m a big fan. His other films I’m not even sure if they got DVD releases here (if they did a small label or went OOP quickly).

        But yeah a lot of people hail him as the Spanish Ed Wood. I know I do when I write about the 2-films I saw by Simon.

        Oh one other film I saw by him was Satan’s Blood he was just a producer (though on the IMDb he’s listed un-credited as a director no idea how legit that is but he was a producer on it for sure).

  3. dbmoviesblog says:

    I find slugs in horror movies totally horrifying, verging disgusting (maybe it was the second Harry Potter film which got me going?) and I think there should be more horror films including them. I will definitely check out Slither. Thanks!

    • garethrhodes says:

      Thank you for commenting. Yes, despite my misgivings with this, I’m all for more slugs. One of the best things about the original Star Wars trilogy was the inclusion of the daddy of all slugs, Jabba the Hutt. Go for Slither, it’s a whole lot of fun.

  4. Slugs have always grossed me out and that toilet picture is terrifying to me. Combining that with your criticisms and eventual score, I definitely won’t be seeing this!!

Leave a comment